Interstate Passport

Interstate Passport Network registered logo

Leeward CC is a member of the Interstate Passport Network, which provides a framework for block transfer of lower-division general education based on learning outcomes in nine areas:

  • Foundational Skills: oral communication, written communication, quantitative literacy
  • Knowledge of Concepts: natural sciences, human cultures, creative expression, human society and the individual
  • Crosscutting Skills: critical thinking and teamwork/value systems.

Each Network member institution has its own Passport Block—a menu of lower-division general education courses and learning experiences by which a student can earn the Passport. Students who complete our institution’s Passport Block with a minimum grade of “C” or its equivalent in each course or learning experience will be awarded the Passport-Lower Division General Education (Passport-LDGE) by our institution. Those students who later transfer with a Passport to another Network-member institution will have their learning recognized; they will not have to repeat or take additional courses to satisfy lower-division general education requirements in the Passport’s nine areas.

For students the Interstate Passport program offers:

  • An early milestone on the way to a credential.
  • Advance knowledge that lower-division general education learning in the Interstate Passport’s nine areas will be recognized upon transfer to another Network member institution.
  • The potential for faster time to degree, lower cost, less debt, and lower foregone earnings from unduplicated learning.
  • A streamlined transfer process and a greater likelihood of successful transfer and completion.

Participating institutions are listed below. If you're interested in transferring to any of these colleges, see a counselor to find out how to transfer successfully and take your credits WITH you!


  • Leeward Community College
  • University of Hawaii West Oahu


  • Blue Mountain Community College
  • Western Oregon University

North Dakota

  • Lake Region State College
  • University of North Dakota

South Dakota

  • Black Hills State University
  • Dakota State University
  • Northern State University
  • South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
  • South Dakota State University 
  • University of South Dakota


  • Dixie State University
  • Salt Lake Community College
  • Snow College
  • Southern Utah University
  • The University of Utah
  • Utah State University
  • Utah Valley University
  • Weber State University


  • Laramie County Community College

For more information about the Interstate Passport, including a list of Network member institutions, see