Waianae Team nominated for Team of the Year

The Leeward Community College - Wai‘anae Education Center Team is the UH nominee for Team of the Year.

Leeward Waianae team

Laurie Lawrence and her team members – Walterbea Aldeguer, Darwin Bohnet, Jayson Corrales, Genai U‘ilani Keliikuli, Emi Kaneshiro, Scott Kuraoka, William Gregg Longanecker, Summer Miles, Danielle Saito, Jean StavRue-Pe‘ahi, Jennifer Wharton and Danny Wyatt – represent the Leeward Community College - Wai‘anae Education Center.

This team has contributed greatly to the 144 percent growth in student enrollment at the Wai‘anae campus. They have also increased the number of class sections by 93 percent, through extending office hours and offering early morning and late evening classes. Much of this success is due to the outreach efforts of counselors who, in addition to recruitment activities at Wai‘anae and Nanakuli High Schools, have gone out into the community visiting homeless shelters and transitional housing organizations to talk to adults about enrolling in community college.

This team accomplished these goals with no increase in physical resources and adopted Hawaiian cultural values of aloha (love), kuleana (responsibility), malama (caring), lokahi (unity) and ho‘ihi (respect) as the basis for the way they work together. Guided by a core philosophy of “helping students succeed every step of the way,” this group of individuals has exceeded their own objectives and never lost sight of their common goal.

Three awards – Employee of the Year, Manager of the Year and Team of the Year – are designed to honor the state’s executive branch employees and managers who exemplify the highest caliber of public service and dedication to serving the people of Hawai‘i. The nominees will be recognized at the Governor’s Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 14, 2011 at 2:30 p.m. at the Hawai‘i State Capitol Auditorium.

Return to ALL NEWS

News categories: