Hawaii's Best 2017

3 years in a row!

Leeward Faculty, Staff and Student Government representatives standing on the stairs of the ED building

For the third year in a row, two of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser’s Hawaii’s Best Awards were awarded to Leeward Community College. The readers selected Leeward Community College as Hawaii’s Best Career and Technical Education for 2017 and Leeward Theatre came in second place in Live Theatre category.

Chancellor Manny Cabral stated, “I’m so proud of winning these awards for three years in a row! Our workforce development continues to expand in both credit and non-credit areas. Being selected as Hawaii’s Best is a reflection of the dedication and hard work of everyone at the College. We’re also thrilled for the second place award for our Theatre, which is currently undergoing along-awaited renovation.”

Dean of Leeward’s Career & Technical Education, Ron Umehira, also stated, “We are very happy to have been recognized as Hawaiʻi’s Best in Career and Technical Education for the third year in a row and for our second place finish in Live Theater,” said Leeward’s Career and Technical Education Dean Ron Umehira. “Our appreciation goes out to all those that voted for Leeward CC and recognized the quality of programs.”

Leeward’s Career & Technical Programs include accounting, automotive technology, business technology, culinary arts, digital media, education, health information technology, information & computer science, integrated industrical technology, management, plant biology & tropical agriculture, substance abuse counseling, and television program on the credit side and business and professional studies, computers and technology, healthcare and caregiver services, healthcare technology, industrial technology, transportation and customized training solutions offered as non-credit.

The Hawaiʻi’s Best Awards are annually chosen by the readers of the Star Advertiser. More than one hundred categories are included in this year’s Star-Advertiser publication, which was released on June 18, 2017.

More information on our programs can be found online: