Leeward Community College
Programs of Study How to Apply Paying for College Services for Students About Leeward CC Catalog and Courses
  Section Navigation


Three Leeward Faculty Honored by Hawai‘i State Science Olympiad

Math & Sciences’ Roger Kwok, Michael Lane and Helmut Kae were honored at the 10th Anniversary Celebration of the Hawai‘i State Science Olympiad (HSSO) on Saturday, March 29, 2014. Each received a Science Olympiad STEM Leadership Award.

The Award was given “For showing leadership in Science Technology Engineering and Math Education and improving the lives of students and teachers throughout the state of Hawai‘i by inspiring them to learn, collaborate, and achieve excellence in stem education through participation in the Science Olympiad program.”

HSSO Director, Franklin Allaire added, “Your efforts will bear fruit in the lives of future generations.”

Roger Kwok and Michael Lane have supported the event from the very beginning, when only one school with two teams entered. Now in its tenth year, HSSO holds 5 regional tournaments on 4 islands with more than 700 students participating in the state finals. Under Helmut Kae’s leadership’s, the Leeward Regional is the largest in the state.

Congratulations to Michael, Roger and Helmut!


       Related Interest

Copyright 2011-2015 - University of Hawai'i Community Colleges - Leeward Community College
96-045 Ala Ike, Pearl City, Hawaii 96782 • Phone: (808) 455-0011
For inquiries related to this website, email: leeward@hawaii.edu

Map & Directions
Disclaimer | Accessibility