Leeward Students Break into Top Ten Speakers in Debate Tournament

Eighteen bold students represented Leeward CC on March 15 at the Warrior Intramural Debate Tournament, hosted by UH Manoa. Two Leeward students were named as top speakers. Anna Chachka was named 15th top speaker at the tournament and Early College student Jazz Kalingasan was named 9th top speaker. This was the first time Leeward has broken into the Top 10 Speakers of UH’s tournament.

Leeward debaters hailed from many campuses.  Akhiles Siyal, Victor Flores, Anna Chachka, Theresa Svrcina, and Jahmaimelia Ulufale represented the Pearl City campus; Cyrus Young, Erin Kaneaiakala, Lyn Strickland, and Bronson Cureton represented Wai'anae and the Waipahu High School’s Early College Program was represented by Jazz Kalingasan, Olivia Gonzales, Kristen Agbisit, Noel Farro, Carl Tinoyog, and Jessica Mendoza.

Leeward students defeated debaters from HPU and from UH’s junior level debate class. They debated three rounds, each with a different topic.

Round 1: This House supports the principles of communism
Round 2: This House would abolish trial by jury in criminal cases
Round 3: This House believes atheists should proselytize

The top two undefeated teams then went on to debate the final motion, “This House believes it is better to burn out than fade away.” In the end the victory went to a group from UH Manoa’s debate team. This is the second time that Leeward has sent teams to the intramural tournament.

If you are interested in joining or learning more about debate at Leeward, email speech lecturer Christian Gilbert at ckhg@hawaii.

News categories: